Album Review: 'Honestly' by Tyler Ward (Bonus Edition)

Artist: Tyler Ward
Title: Honestly
Genre: Pop
Label: Sony Music
Release: 18th October 2013
hits rating: 8/10

Hey guys,
if you're familar with YouTube you probably have heard the name Tyler Ward.

He's a singer/songwriter from Denver (US) who started out by putting cover songs on YouTube in 2008.
Since then Tyler built an incredible fan base all over the world making it possible for him to tour through the US and Europe.

Now he's here with his debut album 'Honestly' and of course I'm here to review it.

1) S.O.S.
2) Some Kind Of Beautiful (feat. Lindsey Stirling)
3) Forever Starts Tonight
4) Back To LA
5) Falling (feat. Alex G.)
6) Hoopty Hoop
7) Slo Mo
8) If I'm Being Honest
9) Dashes
10) The Way We Are
11) Beginning Of A Bad Idea
12) Can't Hold Us (feat. Alex G.)
13) Set Fire To The Rain
14) The Other Side
15) Thrift Shop (feat. Lindsey Stirling)
16) We Found Love (feat. Jess Moskaluke)

Opener 'S.O.S.' already teaches us that this record isn't a cheap production. With lots of effects and percussion this track gives a good look (listen) on what to expect from the album.

On 'Some Kind Of Beautiful' violin player Lindsey Stirling helps Tyler out to make this track a special one.
The mix of violin and guitar blends perfectly with the soft drum beat and the multiple times layered vocals.

Focused on Tyler's voice and light instrumentals this record brings some sun into the grey Autumn that's coming around. 
All songs are telling stories about love but hey - that's ok. 'Slo Mo' is definitely doing 
 it well and following track 'If I'm Being Honest' and its' up beat and catchy melody don't even make it sound cheesy. 

The one song that really stands out is 'Beginning Of  A Bad Idea' - soft rather high vocals and light finger picking on the guitar turned this song into a beautiful ballad which is definitely worth listening to.

The bonus tracks are all cover tracks you can also find on Tyler's YouTube channel.
'Can't Hold Us' (originally by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis) featuring Alex G. gets you grooving. No doubt.
And I guess it's no secret that Miss Alex G. (who's also on YouTube) owns an amazing voice.

Maybe it's not necessary to buy it (if you're not a fan) but it's definitely no mistake to have this CD in your collection. Give it a try!

You should listen to these tracks: Some Kind Of Beautiful, Back To LA, Slo Mo, Beginning Of A Bad Idea, Can't Hold Us (Bonus

Tyler Ward online:


Thank you for reading!

The album was kindly sent by Sony Music GER, imparted by Netzagenda.

1 comment:

Let me know what you think! :)