Album Review: "Fragile" by Black & White Boy

Artist: Black And White Boy
Title: Fragile
Genre: Folk, Acoustic
Label: unsigned
28th September 2013
hits rating: 8/10

Hey guys,
debut albums are important albums:
the artists/bands finally get to publish songs they've been writing, 
the fans finally get to listen to more tracks than the basic 4-songs EP holds
and the press finally gets to discover new music and review it!

And I'm happy to take the press part today and review the record "Fragile" by Black and White Boy.

The man behind Black and White Boy is Andrew Nicol, a folk singer/songwriter from Glagow (Scotland). 

1) Fifteen
2) The City Sleeps
3) Hide
4) Silence On The Street
5) Breaking Down
6) My Heart Will Wait
7) This Time
8) Thorn In Your Side
9) 27
10) Out On My Own
11) In The Dark

The whole record is, typical for folk/acoustic records, mostly guitar based.

Already the first track "Fifteen" sets the scene beautifully by convincing with a nice laid back beat, sparely used percussion, e-guitar elements which lead into solo and thoughtful lyrics.
The song ends with the sound of rain which is a nice relation to the lyrics.

It's quite lovely how each track has elements in it which make it unique. Let it be the harmonica on "The City Sleeps" or the light backing vocals and the fast pace on "Breaking Down" that perfectly transport the feelings.

To sum it up: the album consists of folk and acoustic tracks, all are handmade and have the tendency to calm you down but still impress with great instrumentals, lyrics and vocal performances.

 You should listen to these tracks: Fifteen, Silence On The Street, Breaking Down

Find Black And White Boy online:

I hope you enjoyed! 


Post a Comment

Let me know what you think! :)