Album review: 'Avril Lavigne' by Avril Lavigne

Artist: Avril Lavigne
Title: Avril Lavigne
Genre: Pop-Rock
Label: Sony Music
Release: 1st November 2013
hits rating: 6/10

Hey guys,
as I told you I'm working quite hard right now to get house in the sand a bit bigger so I now also accept bigger artists to review.
I hope you accept that decision and are looking forward to see where this is going. :)

So today I got Avril Lavigne's new record, which is her fifth but first selftitled album.

Recorded and produced in Hollywood's Henson Studios with the help of husband Chad Kroeger, Martin Johnson (worked with Taylor Swift) and David Hodges (Kelly Clarkson, Christina Perri). 

1) Rock N Roll
2) Here's To Never Growing Up
3) 17
4) Bitchin' Summer
5) Let Me Go (ft. Chad Kroeger)
6) Give You What You Like
7) Bad Girl (ft. Marilyn Manson)
8) Hello Kitty
9) Youn Ain't Seen Nothin' Yet
10) Sippin' On Sunshine
11) Hello Heartache
12) Falling Fast
13) Hush Hush

Opener 'Rock N Roll' indeed is quite a rockish number, might even remind you of Joan Jett's 'I love Rock'n'Roll' at some points.
Great beat, electrifying guitar riffs and definitely a 'fun' song to listen to when you just want to get your mood up. 

'Here's To Never Growing Up' was the first single and by now we all know the lyrics. Don't we? A catchy pop song with cheerful lyrics and that's basically the album's recipe.
You can find tons of catchy tracks, most invite you to dance, others are a bit more serious and grown up.
The instrumentals are good but there nothing that would blow your mind or soak you in. 

If you're not all to familar with Marilyn Manson (like I am) you might get a little heart attack (like I did) when you hear him on 'Bad Girl' bursting into quite a bit scary sounds. So be warned! 

Ballad 'Let Me Go' features Avril's husband Chad Kroeger, singer of Nickleback. This definitely shows Avril's matured side and gives a wonderful impression of her strong and expressive voice which sometimes doesn't shine through all those pop songs. 

Definitely a nice record but nothing too special.

You should listen to these tracks: Rock N Roll, Falling Fast, Let Me Go

Avril Lavigne online:

 Thank you for reading!

This album was kindly sent by Sony Music, imparted by Netzagenda

1 comment:

  1. Klingt ja sehr vielversprechend eigentlich. Ich finds ja irgendwie schade, dass sie zu so nem Modepüppchen geworden ist. Früher war sie mir sympatischer. Das Albumcover sieht cool aus.


Let me know what you think! :)