Album Review: "Wrong Crowd" by Tom Odell (Deluxe Version)

Hey guys!

I remember how in April 2013 I randomly turned on the TV, only to end up being completely mesmerized by a song that was playing.
It was Tom Odell's "Another Love", the emotional and very intense anthem that pretty much everyone knows nowadays.
I immediately downloaded his "Songs From Another Love" EP and then bought tickets to one of his only German shows at that time.

So in May 2013 I went to Cologne to photograph and watch Tom's show. It didn't take long for me to realise that this artist was going to be one of my favourites.
I also got to have a little chat with him after a show and can confirm that he's super lovely!

You can check out previous Tom Odell features here: Gig 2013 | "Long Way Down" Review | Gig 2014

I'm happy to review his new record for you today.

Artist: Tom Odell
Title: Wrong Crowd
Genre: Alternative
Label: Sony Music
Release: 10th June 2016
HITS rating: 9/10

Tom Odell is a singer/songwriter/piano man originally from Chichester, UK, now based in London.
His sound plays with elements of Rock, Pop and slight bits of Dance. 

The young musician started playing the piano at an early age, then began writing and performing himself.
It was singer Lily Allen who signed Tom to her label and soon the world had the pleasure of watching the talented piano man play his way to the top.

Being the winner of the Brits Critic's Choice in 2013 set the tone for a successful debut album release.
Tom's "Long Way Down" built him a loyal and non-stop growing fanbase all over the world.

After two years of writing and recording, he is now here with his brand new album "Wrong Crowd".

You'll find a review of the Deluxe Version below.

1) Wrong Crowd
2) Magnetised
3) Concrete
4) Constellations
5) Sparrow
6) Still Getting Used To Being On My Own
7) Silhouette
8) Jealousy
9) Daddy
10) Here I Am
11) Somehow
12) She Don't Belong To Me (Deluxe)
13) Mystery (Deluxe)
14) Entertainment (Deluxe)
15) I Thought I Knew What Love Was (Deluxe)

Opener and title track "Wrong Crowd" already allows the listener to get used to a slighty different sound.
If you're familiar with Tom's debut album, you'll find new elements in the track.
The beats are more danceable, they have an electronic vibe to it, they seem darker. 
The song tells the story of being with the "wrong crowd", having bad influences in your life and being very much aware of it.
Given the rather dark atmosphere, it's interesting to hear how Odell mixes mysterious with lively; moody with up-beat.

"Magnetised" takes the new-found dance chords and takes them to another level.
There are a lot of layers in the song, starting off with with the beats and the piano, the backing vocals highlighting every important detail.
Yet, it's Tom Odell's roaring, strong and very controlled voice, which reminds the listener why they first fell for this artist.

Further on in the record, Tom also proves that he still knows how to write the emotional, stripped back piano ballads. "Constellations", "Sparrow" and "Mystery" allow you to go on a journey through your own experiences, as the lyrics he writes are very relatable.

With "Daddy" the piano man and his band brought the energetic dynamic of their live performances into the studio.
Dirty guitar riffs are paired with a wild piano and an incredibly strong rhythm section. Listening to this tracks makes you feel like you're in the middle of an Odell gig. And it's fabulous. This one is definitely "the one" for the fans of up-beat, rock arrangements.

To sum it up: Tom Odell has managed to evolve as an artist and showed us that he can combine the light, danceable beats with the meaningful songwriter elements. He found the fine line between the modern beats and the elegance of classical piano songs. "Wrong Crowd" is full of depth, grip and a lot of thought.

You should listen to these tracks: Magnetised, Concrete, Sparrow, Daddy, Mystery

If the video below doesn't work for you, try this link.

Tom Odell online: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Tumblr | YouTube | Instagram

Thank you for your visit! 

Credits // Text: Vanessa Jertschewske | Image: Tom Odell press kit | ** a physical copy of this album was provided by Sony Music Germany


Post a Comment

Let me know what you think! :)