Album Review: "We Move" by James Vincent McMorrow

Hey guys!

I have no idea how many times I've told you that I think 2016 the year of fantastic releases.
But I'll tell you one more time today.

If you're a critical music fan, it can be easy for you to complain about the music industry.
It's true, there are a lot of songs out there that may not please your trained ear.
But there are also so many incredible records out there which deserve all the support they can get.

Here on house in the sand, we prefer to only speak about the music we really enjoy.
I've never seen a point in listening to an album I don't enjoy, only to write a review about it.

Today I get to continue sharing music I absolutely enjoy, by reviewing James Vincent McMorrow's newest LP!

Artist: James Vincent McMorrow
Title: We Move
Genre: Alternative
Label: Believe Recordings
Release date: 2nd September 2016
HITS rating: 8.5/10

James Vincent McMorrow is a singer/songwriter from Dublin, Ireland.
He started out as a drummer in different heavy metal bands, before he discovered the singer/songwriters from the 70s and picked up the guitar.

At the age of 19, the young musician started writing his own music which ties in the newly discovered folk elements as well as the edgier and modern sounds.
McMorrow's unique and rather high voice never fails to stand out.

- The Sparrow And The Wolf (EP) (2008)
- Early In The Morning (LP) (2010)
- Post Tropical (LP) (2014)
- We Move (LP) (2016)

James Vincent's cover of Chris Isaak's "Wicked Game" was used in the trailer of Game Of Thrones' sixth season.

And now that "We Move" is out, I'd like to share my thoughts with you!

1) Rising Water
2) I Lie Awake Every Night
3) Last Story
4)  One Thousand Times
5) Evil
6) Get Low
7) Killer Whales
8) Seek Another
9) Surreal
10) Lost Angles

Opener and first single off of the album "Rising Water" doesn't wait for you to get into the track; it's catchy, it's groovy and it will be stuck in your head for the next few days.
A strong and dominant bassline controls the dynamic of the song, whilst the synths give it a very modern vibe.
McMorrow's voice makes sure to create an intimate feeling which you'll gladly oblige to listen to. The soft backing vocals intensify the track ever so gently and prove that it doesn't need many elements to create a fantastic track.

The simplicity of the first track shall not give you any wrong impressions though;
James Vincent McMorrow is talented songwriter and knows how to use certain elements in order to make you swoon.
The bluesy "I Lie Awake Every Night" is one of those tracks which will make you want to lie awake for a while, just to listen to it.
The vocals on this track are on another level; warm, smooth and soothing vocals wrap you in a warm blanket to help you lie awake.

Another track I find really interesting is "Seek Another".
It greets you with some heavy beats only to then create a contrast by highlighting McMorrow's higher notes. The song presents the moody and edgy side of the album and again highlights the clever arrangements which James Vincent works oh so well.

To sum it up: You won't find a disappointing song on "We Move"; James Vincent McMorrow has created a record which demands you to dive into his world of music. Track 1-10 confirm that this album was worth the wait.

You should listen to these tracks: Rising Water, I Lie Awake Every Night,

To view the "Rising Water" music video in Germany, click here.

James Vincent McMorrow online: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Soundcloud | YouTube | Instagram

Thank you for your visit!

Credits // Text: Vanessa Jertschewske | Image: James Vincent McMorrow (press kit) | **this review was requested via email**


Post a Comment

Let me know what you think! :)